You searched for City|State|Country: , ca us
Page 8 of 28 — Showing results 71 to 80 of 272
1829 Large adobe-block townhouse buiilt by José Antonio Etudillo. Included servants' quarter, work and storage rooms, living and dining rooms, and Roman Catholic chapel.
1884 Helen Hunt Jackson's Ramona published, linking the casa …
Lt. George H. Derby U.S.A
1823 — 1861
Humorist, Engineer, and Builder of
the first dike to safeguard San
Diego Bay as a navigable harbor.
San Diego Chapter D.A.R.
San Diego Chapter S.A.R.
Nov. 3, 1962
1847 First fire-brick structure in San Diego. Constructed by Mormon Battalion.
1849 Headquarters of the U.S. Boundary Commission
1850 Served as courthouse, church, school, and polling place over next two decades.
Sergeant John Basilone was one of the first enlisted Marines to be awarded the Congressional Medal of Honor of World War II. He was also posthumously awarded the Navy Cross.
He was born to Italian immigrants, Salvatore and Dora Basilone, in Buffa…
Hurriedly built in two months by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) for $25,000 in 1936, this wooden, green painted and later termite-infested ballpark was the original home of the Pacific Coast League (PCL) San Diego Padres. The breeze that …
Located 23 miles east of San Luis Rey de Francia, this assistant mission was founded in 1810. The church was dedicated June 13, 1816 by Fray Antonio Peyri. Damaged by earthquake in 1899; restored 1903 when archetypal paintings were shitewashed. La…
Has been designated a
This site possesses national significance
in commemoration the history of the
United States of America
Considered the first purpose-built auto racing facility in the United States when completed, the Lakeside Auto Speedway transformed the nascent motorsports movement by moving races off dangerous public roads and horse racing tracks.
The Speedway …
Built at Witch Creek, ten miles west of Julian in 1888 and used thru June 1954. this historical building was moved to Julian in 1970, and restored by the Julian Historical Society, the County of San Diego, and many other donors.
For over 50 years grave sites on this hill were inaccessible to wagons. Coffins were carried from the wagon to the grave up this walk which bears due west along the 3rd standard parallel south. In 1896 Mary Clough died during a storm. It took sixt…