Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , ca us

Page 2 of 8 — Showing results 11 to 20 of 79
This Classical Revival House was built in 1921 for Miss Elsa Widenmann, a long time civic leader, and her mother, the widow of Charles Widenmann. The carriage house, earlier part of the John Frisbie estate, the barn and the house site are a portio…
This Carpenter Gothic farmhouse was built in 1869 by J.E. Abbott. It was purchased in 1872 by Charles Widenmann, brewer, and remained the family home for over 70 years. The Napa River Craftsman style stone was added when Virginia Street was graded.
On August 19, 1855, the first Catholic Church in Vallejo was dedicated on this site.
Power & Fleming Grocers was located at the northwest corner of Virginia and Marin Streets, c. 1907. The Fleming family owned property on the outskirts of town where they produced fruit, vegetables, dairy, etc. Their goods were brought into town to…
This Greco-Italianate residence was constructed by Thomas B. Elder in the 1870s on this site which John B. Frisbie obtained by patent from President Andrew Johnson. The home was restored in the 1970s by John and Ruth Derry. Plaque below: This …
This Spanish Renaissance Revival building has served as a museum since 1979. The building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. (Marker Number 6.)
Vallejo was the official seat of state government from February 4, 1851 to February 4, 1852. The Capitol, shown above, within which the Legislature convened in 1852 and 1853, stood near this spot.
The Red Men's Hall is a variant of the Renaissance Revival style and exhibits three Native American terra cotta portraits. The building is the home of Samoset Tribe No. 22, organized in 1869. The building was constructed in 1925 and is the work of…
Nut Tree began under a great black walnut tree as a ranch fruit stand on July 3, 1921. The founders, Edwin and Helen Power, pioneered highway merchandising and food service, creating a unique enterprise that symbolizes bountiful California. The Nu…
The following entry appears in the official Shipyard Log of June 19, 1876: "A large carved Eagle (wood) was placed on the pediment of the office building today." No information is available as to the name of the artist, or the occasion for the in…