Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , md us

Page 3 of 4 — Showing results 21 to 30 of 32
Site of second known courthouse of Somerset County on March 1,1694, the court purchased land nearDividing Creek and erected astructure 50 feet by 20 feet,"with gable ends of brick." Thecourt house functioned until 1742.
Maryland's only remaining inhabited offshore island group. Named for early land owner Henry Smith. Chartered by Captain John Smith in 1608 as "The Russell Isles." English farmers John Evans and John Tyler came via Accomack County Virginia to becom…
← 5 miles1000 acres surveyed 1665 forCol. William Stevens,member of Governor's Council,through whose influenceFrancis Makemiecame to Maryland and establishedPresbyterianism in the State. On thissame tract stood the EpiscopalChurch of Coventr…
Erected 1784 - 1792Placed on the National Register of Historic Places 9 August 1984 Ruins stabilized 1985 - 1990 under the auspices ofRehobeth Ruritan ClubMaryland Historical TrustSomerset County Historical TrustB. J. Cantwell, Sr., Mason
Here in 1683 Reverend Francis Makemie began his ministry and in 1706 built this churchRuins of Coventry Episcopal Church
Patented for 150 acres 1678 to John Roach. The brick house on this property is one of the finest examples of very early colonial architecture on the Eastern Shore.
This southeast corner of Somerset Avenue, originally Bridge Street, and Washington Street, first named Upper Alley has been enhanced by this private boxwood garden since the first half of the 19th century. Long-standing tradition in Princess Anne …
Parish established in 1692. St. Andrew's, a chapel-of-ease to All Saints' Church, Monie, was built in 1770 and consecrated in 1845. Tower erected 1859; spire and chapel 1893; wall and lich gate 1964.
Built 1801Built by Littleton Dennis TeackleHome of Somerset County Historical SocietySetting of George Alfred Townsend's novel "The Entailed Hat"
The Courthouse was designed in the Georgian Revival style by architects Frank E. and Henry R. Davis of Baltimore, and was built by W. P. Pusey and Son of Snow Hill. The red brick structure is enriched with Indiana limestone features and stands on …