You searched for City|State|Country: , va us
Showing results 1 to 10 of 23
In dedication and grateful memory
of all who have served in the Armed Forces
to protect our Country and defend its Freedom
November 11, 2004
Virginia's highway system took shape during the 1920s as automobile ownership expanded rapidly. State Route 52 was established in 1928 to connect Suffolk with Prince George County. In 1933, this road became part of the new U.S. 460 from Roanoke to…
Antioch Baptist Church was the first of its denomination in Sussex County and one of the earliest in Virginia.It was formed on 13 June 1772 with 87 members, the result of effective preaching by Elder John Meglamre, of Kehukee Baptist Church in Hal…
Site ofJones ChapelMethodist ChurchOrganized 1777 - Closed 1926
The 16th Virginia Annual Conferencewas held here in 1799. The ReverendJesse Lee presided due to theillness of Bishop Asbury.
A great revival was held here in1787 at which time a…
(front)Our Confederate Soldiers
"The principles for which they fought live eternally."
(rear)List of companies organized inand sent out from Sussex County:Co.A, 41st Va. Reg't, Infantry,"Sussex Sharp Shooters";Co.D, 13th Va. Reg't, Cavalry;C…
(front)Dedicated to the memory ofSussex County citizenswho gave their lives inservice to their country1917 - 1958
World War IWilliam F. ChappellJohn J. EllisGeorge R. EvansRichmond W. HollowayCassius P. ParsonsHarvey F. TatumEdwin F. Wrenn
Begun 1825Completed 1828
Built by Dabney Cosbymaster brickmason under Thomas Jeffersonin the construction of the University of Virginia
Declared a National HistoricLandmark 1973-Exterior restoredby the Board of Supervisors andthe Independenc…
A Nottoway Indian town was located two miles south at the springs when the English settlement was established at Jamestown in 1607. The Nottoways gave the three springs the name, Coppahaunk, meaning "good health or healing waters." About 1825, Cop…
Miles B. Carpenter (1889-1985) moved to a Sussex County peanut farm from Pennsylvania in 1902. He entered the lumber business in 1912 with a planing mill and sawmill. When business slowed during World War II, he whittled figures but did not carve …
(West Facing Side):Scott CountyArea 543 square milesFormed in 1814 from Lee, Washington and Russell. Named for General Winfield Scott, later commander of the American Army. The natural tunnel is in this county.
(East Facing Side):Lee CountyArea…