You searched for City|State|Country: , la us
Showing results 1 to 10 of 14
English SidePère Antoine Desiré Megrét born in France on May 23, 1797 arrived in Louisiana in 1842 and was sent to Vermilionville (now Lafayette) as pastor of St. John's Parish. In 1843 he purchased from Joseph LeBlanc one hundred s…
Bancker was once a thriving community consisting of four large plantations. This area was originally settled by Acadians, as well as families of Spanish, German and Danish descent. William Cade donated property along the Vermilion River for the fi…
For years the Vermilion River provided the main means of transportation. Two ferries served as a link across the river. The Bancker Ferry was located on this site.
Our Lady of Prompt Succor Church was built on this spot in 1897. The church was destroyed by a storm in 1909. Funds which were low due to crop failure delayed reconstruction for 3 years.
Four plantations once thrived near Bancker. Hope Mill and Gertrude were west of the river. Live Oak and Cade were on the east side. Only Live Oak remains.
English TranslationOn July 25, 1843 Père Antoine Désiré Mégret purchased 160 arpents from Joseph LeBlanc for a church, rectory and cemetery. Joseph LeBlanc was buried here in 1854. The oldest marked grave is of Eufemie Brouss…
In 1945, renowned documentary filmmaker Robert Flaherty was commissioned by the Standard Oil Company of New Jersey to make a film as part of a public relations project.Flaherty directed filming of Louisiana Story on location at Avery Island and We…
On this site was the first of our city's three Masonic cemeteries & served Masons and Protestants alike. It has been virtually unused since 1905, although the latest tombstone reads 1954. The earliest recorded death was 1868. A.G. Maxwell donated …
Believed to be the first school in Vermilion Parish to educate freed southern slaves. Pastored by Rev. James A. Herod, the Father of African American education in Vermilion Parish.
Due to abundant timber and a salt dome that had the area's only dependable spring, Acadians obtained lands near Erath c.1781. Thus the first southern prairie Acadian settlement was established. It was known as "The Spring."