You searched for City|State|Country: , ga us
Showing results 1 to 10 of 58
Prater's Mill Dates from 1855 and is in remarkably good shape thanks to the Prater's Mill Foundation. Built by John Pitner, the grist mill and a nearby sawmill operated from a single water-powered turbine. Together the two mills carved a center of…
Prater's Mill is a restored working gristmill built by Benjamin Franklin Prater circa 1855, on land that the Cherokee called "Fish Trap Shoals". The mill is constructed of hand-hewn timbers with mortised and pegged joints. The Prater family owned …
January 19, 1861 - Georgia secedes from the Union.
October 1862 - The first Confederate troops arrive in Whitfield County.
1826 - 1864 - Benjamin Franklin Prater sells corn, hay, fodder, bacon, split rails and planks to the Confederacy for $…
Prater's Mill was an important commercial site, containing the grist mill for grinding corn and wheat, and also a store, post office, warehouse, cotton gin, blacksmith, gardens and numerous houses. The Prater's Mill store and the mill complex were…
Many old mills were powered by overshot water wheels, picturesque, but difficult to maintain. Prater's Mill, however, was powered by three more modern underwater turbines. One of these, a Leffel-type patented in 1862, is still completely operation…
Dr. John Franklin Lacewell (June 7, 1857 - August 19, 1937) was a horse-and-buggy doctor who never owned an automobile. He graduated from Atlanta Medical College (now Emory University) in 1887 and returned to Whitfield County. He answered house ca…
The cotton "gin" (short for engine) was first patented by Eli Whitney of Massachusetts in 1793. The purpose of a cotton gin is to remove the cotton seeds from cotton fibers.
Simple ginning machines were being used prior to 1793 to cle…
The Confederate "Army of Tennessee" that defended Dalton from November 1863 to May 1864 briefly returned here the following October. It was much depleted in both size and spirit. Their unsuccessful defense of Atlanta ended with its fall on Septemb…
Date of Construction: 1852
Builder: Western and Atlantic Railroad
Original Occupancy: Railroad Station
Here, during the Civil War on April 12, 1862, the engine "Texas," dropped off a telegraph operator with orders to warn the Confederate Army…
Confederates withdraw to Resaca when Federal flank movement threatens their rear.
Confederate position Rocky Face Ridge
Federal attack fails / Mill Creek Gap
Federal flank movement / Dug Gap