You searched for City|State|Country: , in us
Showing results 1 to 10 of 29
This mill stone was used by the South Whitley Mill, built on this site by W.W. Arnold and Brothers in 1848. It was originally powered by water from the Eel River with the aid of a wooden dam. One of its products was "Sunshine Flour". The mill cont…
Columbia City attorney and banker, Gates (1893-1978) was elected State Commander of American Legion, 1931. In 1944, he led Republican Party to control of state offices and Indiana General Assembly. As Governor (1945-1949), he created …
The first public building in Whitley County was a log jail built in 1840 on the southeast corner on what is now the courthouse square. That jail cost $490. It was burned in 1855 by a prisoner awaiting trial.
A second two story jail was built i…
was the first white child born in Troy Township, Whitley County, June 23, 1838, near this site. Thomas Estlick Sr., his father, pur- chased 120 acres of U.S. Government land at $1.25 per acre and settled here. He named Goose and Loon Lakes. Both f…
Larwill, formerly Huntsville, was laid out on November 13 1854 along the Pittsburg, Fort Wayne, and Chicago Railroad. It was located at the corners of four farms - Henry McLallen, Sr. Jesse S. Perrin, Thomas J. Hammontree, and Truman Hunt. Huntsvi…
In 1837 Joseph Parrett caused to be surveyed and platted 42 lots on the north bank of Eel River and named the town Springfield. Also in 1837 a post office was established and named Whitley by the department, there being another Springfield in the …
"Let There Be Light"
During the year 1837 in a log cabin near this spot David Parrett taught the First School in Whitley County.
This Memorial Dedicated December 4, 1937 by The Teachers of Whitley County
F - 84 Thunder Streak Served Korean War
In Memory of Those who Served
our Nation's Cause in All Conflicts Past - Present - Future
Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States
Dedicated September, 1985
by V. F. W. Post 2919 Sout…
This site, comprising 240 acres, was obtained from the government in 1836 by Richard Baughan. Here in 1841 he constructed the first flour and saw mill. Flour was of inferior quality and production was soon terminated. The saw mill was operated for…
Lloyd Cassel Douglas, minister and author, was born on this site, August 27, 1877. His father A. J. Douglas, was pastor of Grace Lutheran Church at that time. Lloyd Douglas became a minister and served a number of Lutheran and Congregational churc…