Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , wv us

Showing results 1 to 10 of 44
Just north of here, Joseph Wood built a fort in 1785 on land first patented by Dr. James Craik, friend of George Washington. Garrisoned by Virginia troops in 1791, it was the most important outpost between the Kanawha and Little Kanawha rivers.
A tract of 2314 acres was acquired by George Washington three miles west on Dec. 15, 1772, for services in the French and Indian War. It was surveyed by William Crawford in June, 1771. It bordered for five miles on the Ohio River.
In addition to its historic importance Blennerhassett Island also contains important prehistoric sites. Several Indian villages exist on the Island, and large collections of Indian artifacts have been found here. Largest of the sites, a Fort …
To the east of this cemetery, on the banks of the Little Kanawha River, in 1785, Captain James Neal formed the first permanent settlement in Wood County, Virginia. The vast acreage owned by Captain Neal and his son-in-law, Colonel Hugh Phelps,…
Born in Parkersburg on April 11, 1821, Blair was an attorney before the Civil War. Elected in 1861 to fill a vacancy in the US House of Representatives, he served until 1865 and was a staunch supporter of the Union and WV statehood. On New …
This park is dedicated to the memory of Albert Johnson Woofter, who for 42 years heralded Parkersburg and the Little Kanawha area through his popular Town and Country column and other writings in the Parkersburg News. Al was one of the first to…
At the Little Kanawha, 1774, George Rogers Clark and 90 companions, largely recruited in what is now West Virginia, assembled on their way into Kentucky. Their plans, halted by Indian Wars, later resulted in conquest of the Northwest.
Harman Blennerhassett purchased island in 1797, and built for his bride a mansion which became the showplace of the Ohio Valley. Aaron Burr was his guest in 1805. Here they planned a military expedition with the intention to conquer the Southwest.
Lord Dunmore's army train camped here in 1774 on the way to Indian country. The route followed the old trail crossing the Ohio at the mouth of Hocking River. Here in 1791 Indians killed Nicholas Carpenter and party.
Founded in 1867, Parkersburg High's current Tudor structure is a Frank Packard design built in 1917. PHS was the state's largest high school until 1940 and served all of the city until 1967, when a second high school opened on the South Side…