You searched for City|State|Country: , ma us
Page 9 of 13 — Showing results 81 to 90 of 122
An Indian trail before 1630 left the road here to go over Fay Mountain.
On the slope of the hill one-half mile west stood the house of Jonas Rice, the first permanent dwelling in Worcester, built in 1713. He served as schoolmaster and his son, Adonijah, was the first white child born in Worcester.
One-half mile up Malvern Road is the Indian spring and the site of the Indian village Pakachoag, clear spring, one of the three Indian villages on Worcester ground. John Eliot preached here in 1674.
Up this road on Mayo's Hill, are the remains of a bastioned fort built by Huguenots driven from France by the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes. Their prosperous settlement was interrupted by Indian attacks in 1696, and finally abandoned in 1704.
One mile to the southwest, off the North Brookfield Road, Edward Hutchinson's company seeking a parley with the Nipmucs was ambushed by Indians August 2, 1675, and more than half were slain. Captain Hutchinson died from his wounds. Captain Thomas …
John Johnson and three children were killed by Indians in his house on this spot August 25, 1696. His wife was saved by her brother.
From this ford branched trails to Woodstock, Brookfield and Sturbridge. This way ran the Post Route established in 1672 "to goe monthly" from New York to Boston. Here, June 5, 1676, Major Talcott's Connecticut troops passed to join the final campa…
Site of Praying Indian town established by John Eliot and Daniel Gookin in 1674 and known as Chaubunagungamaug.
Here stood Fort Gilbert, built about 1688 to protect the second settlement of Brookfield from Indian raids.
Settled in 1660 by men from Ipswich on Indian lands called Quaboac. Attacked by Indians in 1675. One garrison house defended to the last. Reoccupied twelve years later.