You searched for Postal Code: 08551
Page 2 of 3 — Showing results 11 to 20 of 26
16 (The Queen's) Light DragoonsBorn 1752Killed in action here in the service of King George III December 14, 1776Eldest son of Admiral Sir Francis Geary BaronetErected in 1907 by his great nephewSir William Nevill M. Geary Baronet
Support for the rebellion against British tyranny was at a low ebb in December 1776. The British occupied a strategic area in New Jersey and Washington's army had retreated across the Delaware River.
The British commander in New Jersey sent Cor…
Erected in memory of the citizen soldiers of Amwell Township who, commanded by Captain John Schenck, on December 14th 1776, met and drove from this field a column of the British 16th Light Dragoons, after killing their commander, Cornet Francis Ge…
Named for the Wert or Weart family who owned land here. Post office est. in 1854.
In tribute tothe veterans of East Amwell Townshipwho served in World War II.
In Memory Of:William EppeleSteven GarboskiRalph Mattison MelbournLawrence J. LarsenAndrew H. WelisewitzFrank G. Laga Jr.Franklin V.D. Hill
Vietnam:Van Dyke Manners
Encompasses the 18th Century Hamlets of Linvale & Snydertown. Placed on the New Jersey & National Register of Historic Places in 1997.
British officer Francis Geary killed near here in a 1776 skirmish. He is buried to the northeast off Geary's Ridge Road.
Founded as a German Reform church in 1749 by Palentine Settlers from Germany. Stone church originally in adjoining cemetery. Became a Presbyterian church in 1810. Original entrance faced south.
Prior to 1750 an Anglican church built of logs, later stone. Only portions of cemetery remain. Dr. Gershom Craven, who treated General Lafayette, is buried here. All graves face east as was the custom of the times.
Built in 1811 as a private school. In 1869 the Larison brothers, Dr. C.W. and Rev. A.B. opened their seminary at Ringoes. Building is one of the finest examples of Federal Architecture in N.J.