You searched for Postal Code: 08809
Showing results 1 to 10 of 23
In the mid to late 1800s, Halstead Street was known as "Irish Town" because of the large community of Irish Immigrants who lived here. This tight-knit Irish Catholic community was anchored by the Mulligan family, originally from Belturbet, County …
This fully functional shop is representative of the period from 1750 to 1900. Quarry operations required the skills of a blacksmith for the maintenance of equipment and livestock.
This 19th century two family dwelling housed Mulligan employees and families. The house had no plumbing, water or electricity. Window panes often cracked and broke from dynamite blasting in the quarry. Laundry drying outside was soiled from quarry…
This 1860 frame schoolhouse stood near St Thomas' Church in Alexandria Township. It remained open until 1921. In 1974, the building was moved to the Clinton Historical Museum grounds.
There were lime kilns on this site as early as 1781. When limestone was fired, the resulting chemical change produced a powder which was used for fertilizer, whitewash and sanitation.
The limestone quarry site was operated continuously by members of the Mulligan family, who either owned or leased the property for 115 years.James Mulligan and his brothers, Francis, Patrick and Terrance, emigrated from County Caven, Ireland and s…
Commemorating the Great Clinton FireOctober 30, 1891100 Year Anniversary
This Historic structure, known as Dunham's Mill, was built in 1837 and now houses the Hunterdon Art Center.Milling on this site dates back to 1751, and the present mill was in operation until 1951.The building and its site on the South Branch of t…
Red Mill ca. 1810. Processed wool, plaster, grist, talc, graphite. Once generated electricity. Limestone quarry mined from early 1800's to 1963.
This point marks the intersection of the upper and lower Minisink Trails connector used by Lenape for travel and trade between the Delaware and Raritan Rivers.