Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 08876

Showing results 1 to 10 of 22
By this route Washington with his army retired after his victory at Princeton Jan. 1777. Erected by Gen. Frelinghuysen Chapter D.A.R.
The Somerset County Court House, constructed in 1909, is a fine example of Beaux-Arts Classicism. It was designed by the firm of Gordon, Tracy and Swartwout. James Reilly Gordon was one of America's greatest courthouse architects, who also designe…
Dedicated in grateful and loving tribute to all who served in the armed forces of the United States to defend their ideals and paved the way to peace.
The people's reading room and library was formally established in 1871. The library had several locations until George W. Post, architect of the New York Stock Exchange, designed this neoclassical building expressly for it. Later incorporated as S…
Tunison's Tavern C.1748 was located here, making this the site of the oldest continuing business in Somerville. Some of George Washington's troops stayed at Tunison's during the 1778-79 Winter encampment. The tavern and the hotel that replaced it …
Honoring the residents of the Borough of Somerville who served in the armed forces during World War II. This plaque is in memory of those who gave their lives in the service of their country. 1941 - 1945.
Honor Roll In commemoration of those from Somerville New Jersey who served their country in the World War. 1917 - 1919. To the memory of those who made the supreme sacrifice. Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for h…
Banking has been conducted on this corner since c. 1857. This beaux arts building of terra cotta brick was designed by local architect Jay C. Van Nuys. It replaced a brick bank structure that was moved to 23 South Bridge Street
On this site stood the St. Thomas A.M.E. Zion Parsonage. From 1910 to 1925, it was the home of Paul Robeson, noted actor, singer, scholar, athlete and humanitarian.
Originally a wooden bridge in colonial times, George Washington's Surveyor General, Robert Erskine, reported it to be a "Good Bridge" in 1779. From 1809 to 1869 the bridge was maintained by the original New Jersey Turnpike Corporation, which erect…