Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 16507

Page 6 of 9 — Showing results 51 to 60 of 81
Dedicated in honor of those who served our country during hostilities in Vietnam Dedicated June 14, 1968
[Front:] In memory of the Soldiers and Sailors from Erie County who gave their lives to save the Union [Back:] "We here highly resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain, that this nation, under God, shall have a new bi…
In remembrance of General Anthony Wayne an American soldier Distinguished for valor in the War of the Revolution Appointed, in 1792, on Washington's recommendation, General-in-Chief of the U.S. Army In 1794, vanquished the Indian t…
Served with distinction as ensign at the Battle of Mobile Bay, August 7 A.D. MDCCCLXIV   In command of the Olympia, flagship of the American fleet at the Battle of Manila Bay May 1 A.D. MDCCCXC Died at Kobe Japan A.D. MDCCCXC. His fame is immo…
Steadfast in the face of war in the summer of 1813, seven brave Erie women stitched the flag that Commodore Oliver Hazard Perry carried into battle. British ships were on Lake Erie poised for attack. Although many fled south, Margaret Forster Steu…
A local memorial for the city of Erie commemorating the 9/11 attacks. It consists of a timeline of events, a memorial flag to the fallen, and the center piece of a steel column recovered from the wreckage of the World Trade Center after its collapse.
Organized in 1921, the 112th is part of the famed 28th Div., the oldest continuous infantry division in the US Army. The 112th, previously known as the 16th, has origins in the storied 83rd PVI regiment formed in Erie in 1861 during the Civil War.…
Built in Erie in 1843, USS Michigan (later named Wolverine) was the US Navy's first iron-hulled ship. Michigan was stationed in Erie, served on the Great Lakes until 1923, scrapped in 1949.
Perry's ships, the Lawrence, the Niagara, and the Ariel, were built in spring, 1813, at the foot of this street. His warehouses, blockhouse, and lookout station were also located there.
Two forts stood four blocks north. French fort, built by Marin, 1753, abandoned 1759. British fort, built by Colonel Bouquet, 1760, and captured 1763 by Pontiac's Indians. The French Road to Fort Le Boeuf began there.