You searched for Postal Code: 23434
Page 2 of 4 — Showing results 11 to 20 of 36
Dedicated to those who made the supreme sacrifice during World War II
Louis M. Artis · Spencer Baker · Lee C. Baggett · Joseph H. Bagley · John G. Barnes · Clyde E. Benton · Howard W. Benton…
Cedar Hill Cemetery sits on the site of a farm owned by the John Constant family in the early 1700's. In 1802, the Town of Suffolk purchased 2½ acres of the farm to build a community meeting house as a shared house of worship for both blacks …
A Fountain for Suffolk
This fountain, dedicated to the City of Suffolk, embodies elements of classic design which symbolize the ancient Roman origins of Oderzo, Italy.
The mosaic tiles forming the amphora, or vase, are a gift from the citize…
This bell was part of the old City Hall constructed in 1891 on Main Street near this site. The City Hall Building had two spires. The southern spire had a four faced clock that was operated by a system of counter weights. This bell was struck as a…
The Suffolk School Board opened Booker T. Washington School here in 1913 to serve African American children in grades 1-8. Ninth grade was added during the 1920s. Overcrowding prompted the construction of a larger building here in 1925. Black resi…
Planters Nut and Chocolate Company, based in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, established a peanut processing factory in Suffolk in 1913. Amedeo Obici, the company's co-founder, moved to Suffolk and in 1916 sponsored a contest to develop a mascot for P…
Surveyed by George Washington in 1763. A cart road was built first along this 4½ mile ditch and the canal dug alongside by slave labor for transportation. Gresham Nimmo, under the personal direction of George Washington, did the surveying and…
Washington and company used this spot as their Dismal Swamp headquarters. The town was built prior to the Nimmo survey of 1763 on Riddick 402 acre patent.
Jericho Ditch, 9 miles long was dug by slave labor in early 1800's to enable the dismal swamp land company to remove the timber, to drain lowland and provide access to Lake Drummond.
The site of the
first Church erected
in Suffolk, 1753
To the memory of the men
of Nansemond County
whose love of God and
Country helped to found