You searched for Postal Code: 26003
Page 6 of 7 — Showing results 51 to 60 of 62
On site of Fort Shepherd is this mansion, built in 1798 by Moses Shepherd and known as Shepherd Hall. Among its guests were Lafayette, James K. Polk, Andrew Jackson, and Henry Clay. Clay's support brought National Pike here.
George Washington described the land here in 1770. The French expedition headed by Capt. Celeron buried leaden plates at the mouth in 1749 and claimed the land for France. De Bonnescamp's map gives creek name-Kanonouaras.
West Virginia was organized in 1861 at Washington Hall, 12th and Market streets. The Linsly Institute Building, Eoff and 15th streets, was the first Capitol. From 1875 to 1885, the Capitol was in the County-City Building.
In 1816, with a strong interest in internal improvements, the legislatures of Virginia and Ohio authorized the formation of the Wheeling and Belmont Bridge Company (Belmont because the bridge company was to connect from Wheeling, Virginia to Belmo…
The Wheeling Suspension Bridge, constructed by Charles Ellet, Jr. between 1846 and 1849, was the first long-span wire-cable suspension bridge in the United States. For many years it was the longest clear-span bridge in the world. The deck was wrec…
Indian word. Settled, 1769, by Ebenezer, Jonathan, Andrew, and Silas Zane. Fort Henry, once Fort Fincastle, built, 1774. Mail boats, 1794, National Pike, 1818, and B&O Railroad, 1852, combined with its iron mills to make Wheeling a great manufactu…
Major Samuel McCollochdaring scout, gallant soldierwhile attempting the relief ofFort Henry at WheelingSeptember, 1777escaped an overwhelming body of Indiansby forcing his horse over this precipice
The National Pike, called the "Old Cumberland Road" , was started in 1811 and used to Wheeling in 1817 and by mail coaches from Washington by 1818. Most of it followed the Nemacolin Path and Braddock's Road from Cumberland, Md.
The statue before you was created as a tribute to the pioneer women who braved the uncertainties of the great journey west. The Madonna memorials were a project of the Daughters of the American Revolution and were dedicated between 1926 and 1929. …
(South Face)N.S.D.A.R. Memorialto thePioneer Mothersof theCovered Wagon Days.
(East Face)To the pioneer mothers of our mountain state, whose courage, optimism, live and sacrifice made possible the National Highway that united east and west.