Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 27106

Page 3 of 7 — Showing results 21 to 30 of 64
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1064_smithy-and-christ-pottery-1759_Winston-Salem-NC.html
Bethabara's second smithy (blacksmith shop) stood on this site in 1759. In 1755 the first smithy opened for business, and in the active years of building construction in Bethabara, the blacksmith was kept busy supplying necessary hardware and repa…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1063_locksmith-and-gunsmith-shop-1759_Winston-Salem-NC.html
From 1759 to 1786 this building housed a locksmith and gunsmith shop. Customers came from miles around Bethabara, often staying several days in the village, while having work done by the talented Moravian craftsmen. Master Potters Rudolph Christ, …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1062_smiths-house-1762_Winston-Salem-NC.html
New arrivals from Pennsylvania helped to swell Bethabara's population to 75 and 15 outside laborers. As the size of the village grew so did the need for houses and shops. The cellar of this 1762 Smith's House was filled with dirt in the early 19-c…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1061_mill-wrights-house-1762_Winston-Salem-NC.html
This small cellar, like many in Bethabara, was beneath a larger house. Stone steps and a place for wooden steps both into the cellar, show access from the inside and outside the house. "Toward the end of May our mill-dam was swept away by a flo…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1060_tailors-shop-addition-and-well-after-1766_Winston-Salem-NC.html
In the floor of the cellar of this addition to the 1764 Tailor's Shop, a depression was found containing the remains of a small wooden box. A drain leading to the box indicates that water collected in the box and that it was probably used to cool …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM105Z_tailors-shop-1764_Winston-Salem-NC.html
One of the Moravians to come to Bethabara in 1753 was a tailor, and his 1756 shop stood near the pottery on the town square. When this new tailor's shop was built in 1764, the first shop became a dining room for the Brothers House. Governor Tryon …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM105Y_flour-bin-1758_Winston-Salem-NC.html
Added to the bakery, which adjoined the bin on the northeast side, this was a secure storage place for flour supplied by the Moravians' mill (1755). This bakery supplied the town with bread unitl it was replaced by a new bakery in 1782. "(Meeti…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM105W_pottery-dependency-1756_Winston-Salem-NC.html
This building handled the overflow and storage of pottery, and was in use by the potter from 1756 until 1771. When the cellar was being excavated in the 1960s, large fragments of pottery and many Lovefeast mugs were found lying on the floor—…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM105V_pottery-shop-addition-between-1763-1766_Winston-Salem-NC.html
Br. Aust, the first potter in Bethabara, moved his business to the new central town of Salem on June 17, 1777. He took down the addition to the Potter's Shop, in order to move the woodwork. Three other significant potters—Christ, Krause, and…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM105U_pottery-shop-1755_Winston-Salem-NC.html
Gottfried Aust, the first Moravian potter in North Carolina, moved into this shop after it was built in 1755. He, and several other potters who followed him in Bethabara, produced utilitarian redware pottery including many kinds of vessels, mugs, …
PAGE 3 OF 7