Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 29401

Page 4 of 28 — Showing results 31 to 40 of 272
Built in 1851 by Hugh P. Cameron, a crockery merchant, as his residence.In 1892, David Bentschner, a clothing merchant,purchased the home and changedthe interior to Colonial Revival.The front gate, carrying his initials, was added at that time.
35 Calhoun Street was built in 1852 and occupied by Irish immigrants.It was purchased by Willis Johnson, Sr. in 1939.His sons, Frank and Henry built 35½ Calhoun with their own hands to completecarpentry apprenticeships.The houses are still owned …
1822????Organized as a place of worship for those???????????? could not afford to rent pews in existing churches. 1824????Church built on Guingard St. as the first "free"?????????????Church of the Episcopal Church in the United States. 1835?…
35 Calhoun Street, was constructed in 1852 by Irish immigrants and purchased in 1939 by Willis Johnson, Sr., who was born a free man at Drayton Hall Plantation, West Ashley. 35 Calhoun Street and35-1/2 are two-story wood framed Charleston singleho…
The Roman Catholic Church ofSt. Mary's CharlestonEstablished 1789Incorporated February 19, 1791The first Roman Catholic Church inSouth Carolina, North Carolina, and Georgia.This is the third structure on this site.The first, a wooden building, wa…
Has Been Designated A NationalHistoric Landmark This Site Possesses National Significance in Commemorating the History of the United States of America 1980 Heritage Conservation and Recreation ServiceUnited States Department of the Interior…
Has been placed on the National RegisterOf Historic Places By the United StatesDepartment of the Interior
William Blacklock Househas been designated aNationalHistoric LandmarkThis Site Possesses National Significance in Commemorating the History of the United States of America 1974 National Park Service U.S. Department of Interior
Founded 1750 The Cradle of Reformed Judaism In The United States, 1824 Jews who settled in Charleston as early as1695 worshipped informally until the foundingof this congregation in 1750. First synagogueon this site, 1780-1792, was a converted cot…
Founded 1818 by the Reverend Morris BrownClosed by State Law 1834. Reopened By The Reverend R.H. Cain 1865Present Edifice Built By The Reverend L.R. Nichols 1891Redecoration By The Reverend F.R. Veal 1949The Right Reverend F.M. Reid, Bishop
PAGE 4 OF 28