You searched for Postal Code: 35801
Page 8 of 9 — Showing results 71 to 80 of 85
For whom Huntsville was named lived in a cabin near this spring about the year 1805.
Incorporated 1820Completed 1831This canal was constructed to the Tennessee River to facilitate the transportation of cotton to market. Developers were: Thomas Fearn, LeRoy Pope, Stephen S. Ewing, Henry Cook, and Samuel Hazard.
City was scene of these "firsts" in Alabama: 1811 first town incorporated 1812 first Masonic Lodge chartered 1816 first bank incorporated 1819 first state constitution drafted 1819 first Governor inaugurated 1819 first session of state legislature…
Built 1819 by H. C. Bradford, this home was later owned by John Read, John McKinley, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court (1837-1852), Bartley M. Lowe, M. C. Betts and Marie Howard Weeden (1846-1905) whose poetry and paintings preserve nineteent…
Site of Hotel Monte Sano, built in 1887 by the North Alabama Improvement Company with the assistance of Michael and James O'Shaughnessy. The 233-room hotel opened on June 1, 1887 and served as a health resort and haven for famous visitors includin…
(Front):Historic Viduta"Viduta"-derived from Spanish "vida" meaning "life"In a time when yellow fever, malaria, and cholera threatened, Dr. Thomas Fearn and his brothers Robert and George were drawn by the cool air and medicinal springs to establi…
Harrison Brothers, the oldest operating hardware store in Alabama, was founded in 1879 when James B. Daniel and T. Harrison opened a tobacco shop on Jefferson Street. In 1897 they purchased this building on South Side Square and expanded into the …
Methodist Society organized at Hunt's Spring prior to formation of Madison County, served 1808-1820 by Flint Circuit traveling ministers. First Church built 1821 NW corner Clinton and Gallatin Streets. Present site acquired 1832, church completed …
Organized June 15, 1818 by the Rev. Gideon Blackburn, D.D.
One of the state's oldest Presbyterian churches.
This site was selected for the first church building, dedicated on Oct. 13, 1822. The second and present, sanctuary was dedicated on …
Housed on this site in brick building44 ft. x 54 ft
Chartered by Mississippi Territorial Legislature December 11, 1816
Commenced operations October 17, 1817, shortly thereafter made depository for Huntsville Federal Land Office funds.