You searched for Postal Code: 39201
Showing results 1 to 10 of 23
History of the
Known at the date of its closing as the GM&O Depot, this passenger depot was constructed in 1927 by the New Orleans Great Northern Railroad (NOGN) and later served the Gulf, Mobile & Northern Railroad (GM&N) as well as …
This building was constructed in 1904 as the original fire station for the first paid City of Jackson Fire Department. With numerous additions, now removed, it served the city for almost seventy five years.
Abandoned for three years, listed on …
On March 27, 1961, nine African American Tougaloo
students quietly sat in at the Jackson Municipal Library,
which served only white patrons. Pollce ordered
them to Carver Library, the "colored" library, and
when they refused, arrested t…
Organized by five Jacksonians in 1837. Under the leadership of Rev. L.D. Halsey, a church building was constructed herein 1845-46 on land purchased from the state. Utilized for Christian worship until 1951.
Woolworth's variety store was the scene of a pivotal event in the Mississippi Civil Rights Movement on May 28, 1963. When three black Tougaloo College students sat down at the white lunch counter seeking service, the nonviolent protesters…
Jackson's only surviving "public square" from Peter Vandorn's original city plan of 1822. Named for James Smith, Scottish manufacturer, Confederate benefactor, and Jackson resident, 1834-1855, who donated funds for a fence around the park in 1884.…
This edifice ~ a memorial to Bishop Charles Betts Galloway ~ houses descendants of Jackson's first Christian congregation, worshipping on this site since 1839.
Methodist Episcopal Church South.
First M.E. Church South erected A.D. 1838.
Present building erected A.D. 1913-1915.
Dedicated to the memory of
Bishop Charles B. Galloway
Frequently referred to as "40 & 8" cars because of their capacity to carry "40 men or 8 horses," the boxcars were built beginning in the 1870s and used in both World Wars to transport troops and supplies. Each of the cars of the Merci Train was ad…
Served 1839-1903 as the state capitol: restored 1959-1961 as the State Historical Museum, a division of the Miss. Department of Archives and History.