You searched for Postal Code: 75142
Showing results 1 to 10 of 20
This burial ground originally served members of the Morrow family, early area settlers. It was first used in 1853 for the interment of Alexander Morrow, an infant. In 1892 his mother Mary Elizabeth Morrow (1812-94) gave the site and adjoining land…
Established Ca. 1850
Historic Texas Cemetery - 2007
Organized July 1854 by The Rev. Richard O. Watkins, as Cumberland Presbyterian Church. First church building was erected in 1854-55. First pastor, The Rev. Dempsey W. Broughton, helped found Trinity University. Present sanctuary was built in 1877.…
Pioneer patriot. Spikes Prairie named for him and his family.
In 1875-1876 Spikes served as an elected spokesman from this district in state convention to reestablish free government. He rode horseback to Austin with John H. Reagan, former Conf…
Set aside as a burial ground by Joseph Fox. His daughter Sarah K. first person buried here, Aug. 24, 1852.
Grounds are cared for by descendants, friends.
Jos. Fox was born 1800 in London. Died in Prospect, Texas, 1872. Was physician.
Organized Nov. 5, 1871, by Elder J. B. Daniel, assisted by The Rev. A. D. Manion, missionary of East Fork Baptist Association. Nine charter members met in homes or other places until 1883, when the first small white frame church with steeple was e…
Organized in February of 1845 as the Kingsborough Methodist Episcopal Church, South. The Rev. Wm. K. Wilson was first pastor. In 1850 Kingsborough (county seat) was renamed Kaufman. Present site was purchased and first building erected 1857, with …
R.A. Hindman, who started the first newspaper in Kaufman, moved to the area in 1861. With his direction, this congregation was organized the same year. Services were conducted in homes until 1877 when members bought a sanctuary at the corner of Sh…
Built 1891 by R.C. Dansby; of iron, masonry, wood. Sold to Smith E. Greenslade, 1919; still in Greenslade family.
Exposed iron beams support the roof. Windows have upper and side panels that fold for ventilation. Modified Spanish architecture…
Built 1889 by W.L. Huff; bought 1892 by Dr. J.W. Park (1855-1941).
Born in Texas, Park studied at Louisville (Ky.) Medical College. As doctors were scarce, he was licensed in 1877, and practiced two years in Egypt (Tex.), then returned to take …