You searched for Postal Code: 78611
Showing results 1 to 10 of 22
The Dobyville Cemetery is the last visible remnant of the Community of Dobyville, Settled in the 1850's and named for the towns location on a white adobe rock hill. The Cemetery contains more than 230 marked graves, between 60 and 70 graves are un…
One of "Old 300" of Stephen F. Austin's first colony from Pennsylvania, took part in 1836 war for Texas Independence, he made and lost several stakes.
In 1851 bought a league and labor of Burnet County land, including site of Fort Croghan.
Jacob Wolf (1812-1874) and wife Adeline Faulkner Wolf (1814-1870) came from Tennessee to Texas about 1850. Obtaining land grant in Burnet County, they settled at Dobyville, and were pioneers, supplying their own provisions, buildings, medicines, a…
Built 1870 by George Whitaker, early settler. Of hand-hewn rock. Has inside cistern. Stones from old courthouse used in 1939 addition.
William H. and Mary Russell built this Victorian residence in 1883-84. Russell, a veteran of the Civil War (1861-65), headed the Burnet school system about 15 years. Sold in 1895, the house had such tenants as J. W. Edgar, later state commissioner…
Built 1860 by Gen. Adam R. Johnson. Of hand-hewn stone, logs. High windows and thick walls kept out Indians.
Logan Vandeveer (1815-55), a hero of the 1836 Battle of San Jacinto, came here about 1849 as a Fort Croghan beef supplier. He became first United States Postmaster in Burnet and in 1854 built this native stone structure. With a partner named Taylo…
Surrounded by a rock wall, the small pioneer family cemetery just west of this site is located on land that was once part of the William H. Magill homestead. Magill, a veteran of the Battle of San Jacinto, moved his family to Burnet County in 1850…
Sponsored by the nearby Robert E. Lee Lodge, Lake Victor Lodge No. 1011, A. F. & A. M. was formally established in December 1909 during the 73rd Annual Grand Communications of the Grand Lodge of Texas. The first meeting of the Lake Victor Lodge to…
FormerMahon Dower HouseOriginally constructedin 1740's later used asScoil Mhuire SecondarySchool until 1967