Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 88323

Page 2 of 3 — Showing results 11 to 20 of 24
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1M3O_nurses-quarters_Fort-Stanton-NM.html
This building was constructed in 1940 on the site of building 11 (formerly barracks and then the original tubercular hospital). While it does not match the style or construction of most of the original fort buildings, it does reflect the Territori…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1M3N_officers-quarters_Fort-Stanton-NM.html
This building was constructed in 1883 of adobe. It was designed to house two officers and their families. During the hospital years, it was used as doctor's housing, boasting two finely appointed apartments. What a privilege it was to be statio…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1M28_chapel_Fort-Stanton-NM.html
The Catholic chapel was originally built in 1913 on a wing of building 11 across the parade ground. In 1938, buildings 10, 11 and 12 were demolished, but the chapel was left free standing. A new stone fa├žade was added to the old chapel consisting…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1M27_new-hospital_Fort-Stanton-NM.html
This new hospital building replaced the old tubercular hospital (buildings 10 and 11) in 1936. It was state of the art when constructed and boasted a bed capacity of 85 patients and the first elevator in the state of New Mexico. Doctors that we…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1M23_hospital-administration_Fort-Stanton-NM.html
T.B. Patients in front of the hospital administration building. This building was constructed of local stone by troops of the 1st Dragoons and 8th Infantry as a barracks in 1855. It was utilized in that capacity until the fort was closed by the…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1M1E_guardhouse_Fort-Stanton-NM.html
James Dolan, Emil Fritz, W.W. Martin and Lawrence Murphy established a business that would become the focus of the Lincoln County War. Fritz and Murphy (and possibly Dolan) served at Fort Stanton as soldiers. Originally built of adobe in 1879, …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1M10_fort-administration-building_Fort-Stanton-NM.html
This building, like most others on the parade ground, was first constructed in 1855 as a single story, stone structure. It included an Adjutant's office, library, and guard house. Later remodels added a second floor and arched porch. It was known …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1LZT_tb-tent-cottages_Fort-Stanton-NM.html
On these terraces were located 40 - 70 tent cottages that housed ambulatory tuberculosis patients between 1900 and 1963. These two man cottages had roll up canvas sides that were kept open for the fresh air regarded as essential to curing tubercul…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1LZP_community-house_Fort-Stanton-NM.html
This beautiful building was constructed in 1931 for use by civilian employees of the hospital (and their families) for social activities. Patients utilized the 'Seaman's Social Club' located just to the west of this building. In most aspects of li…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1LZG_stables-and-corrals_Fort-Stanton-NM.html
Corrals have stood on this site since 1855. The current rock corrals were built in 1877 to replace older ones that burned. These structures housed horses and mules necessary for Cavalry and freighting operations. When the hospital took over Fort S…
PAGE 2 OF 3