Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 94553

Page 5 of 6 — Showing results 41 to 50 of 55
Built to replace building destroyed by fire in 1925Originally built in 1854 bypioneer & prominent landownerWilliam Hook1802-1885Occupied by theJames Hotel - James Bulger, proprietorUntil closed in 1979 Historic Marker XIIIMartinez Historical So…
Built in 1905 by Mrs. James Rankinafter fire destroyed two city blocks Palm Garden GrillW.C. Reed - Confectioner & StationerE. Pasch - HaberdasherA.B. Wilson - Jeweler & Optician Historic Marker No. VMartinez Historical SocietyJuly 4, 1990
Founded by Dr. Robert Semple in 1847, the Martinez-Benicia ferry was the first established and longest operating ferry service in the S.F. Bay Area. In 1850 Oliver Coffin took over the operation and with his brothers purchased a new ferryboat, the…
Dedicated April 23, 2000Morgan HousePony Express RouteApr. 23, 1860 - Sep. 8, 1861Home StationApr. 16, 1869 - Sep.8, 1861ByJames StreteskySupervisor Gayle B. UilkemaMartinez Area Chamber of CommercePony Express Trail Association{Text on the revers…
County SeatSince April 25, 1851MartinezHistorical MarkerI
First located here April 28, 1876 by Central Pacific R.R. First passenger train passed through on September 25, 1877 with Leland Stanford aboard. Historic Marker No. VIMartinez Historical SocietyJuly 4, 1991
Dedicated April 23, 2005MartinezBy James Stretestky · Julian M. Frazer · Martinez Historical Society · Mayor Rob & Carole Schroder · Supervisor Gayle B. Uilkema · Vice Mayor Mark & Dianne Ross · Tesoro's G…
Old Town MartinezHome of Historic InterestOriginal home of Antonio and Marian Bruno Russo of Sicily. Later home to bocce champion, Gino di Tullio and wife, Mimma of Pozzuoli ItalyCirca 1900
Designed Art Deco styleby theReid BrothersArchitects/San FranciscoBuilt by John McNamera1922Premier openingJuly 2, 1926Closed due to fire 1931Reopened 1932Closed 1961Purchased by Contra Costa County 1998Presently the Contra Costa County Public De…
334TalbartOld Town MartinezHome of Historic InterestHome of County Supervisor& Grangers Warehouse mngr,Robnson Jones(1873). Latersold to dog catcher, Capt.,Horton (1893) who impoundedstray dogs on the property.Built 1878