Historical Marker Search

You searched for State: md

Page 457 of 463 — Showing results 4561 to 4570 of 4621
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM5X_sophias-dairy_Belcamp-MD.html
Left by Captain Hall of Cranberry in 1737 to his daughter Sophia, who married Colonel Thomas White, father of Bishop William White of Philadelphia, Mrs. Robert Morris and Sophia, who married Aquilla Hall. He built this house in 1768, one of the fi…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM5W_aberdeen-proving-ground_Aberdeen-MD.html
Military reservation of 55000 acres of land and water. The Ordinance Department, U. S. Army operates here; the Army Proving Ground for Arms, Ammunition and Automotive Equipment; the Ballistic Research Laboratory; the Ordinance School. Established …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM5T_halls-cross-roads_Aberdeen-MD.html
At intersection of Old Post Road (established 1666) and Bush Neck Road (1670) were a tavern and relay point for stagecoaches in 18th Century. In 1835 nearby stop on Philadelphia, Wilmington and Baltimore Railroad was named for Aberdeen, Scotland, …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM5S_olney_MD.html
Surveyed as "Prospect ye 29th August 1705 for Thomas Preston." Named changed to "Olney" in 1810 by Mrs. John Norris, an admirer of Cowper, the poet, and his friend the Reverend John Newton, who lived at Olney, England.
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM5Q_saint-ignatius-church_Forest-Hill-MD.html
Oldest Roman Catholic Church in continuous use in the Archdiocese of Baltimore. Completed in 1792 by Sylvester Boarman, S.J., while in charge of the nearby Jesuit Mansion of St. Joseph at Priest's Ford. Early pastors of the church served Charles C…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM5P_jerusalem-mills_Kingsville-MD.html
Established 1772 by David Lee a Quaker from Bucks County, Pennsylvania. A gun manufactory back of the mill furnished guns for the Revolution in 1776. The original tract called Jerusalem patented 1687.
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM5O_harry-gilmors-raid_MD.html
On July 10, 1864, Major Harry Gilmor's Confederate cavalry camped in this building (an old stage coach headquarters) on his way to burn the Pennsylvania R. R. bridge across the Gunpowder, where he captured General W. B. Franklin.
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM5N_this-tablet_Abingdon-MD.html
This tablet marks the site of the building in which were held the Courts of Harford County from its organization in March 1774 until March 1783. In this house the Committee of Harford County held its meetings before and during the early years of t…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM5K_gov-william-paca_Edgewood-MD.html
Signer of the Declaration of Independence. Born October 31, 1740 on Chilberry Hall Farm 1? miles south of here. Died October 27, 1799.
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM5J_harford-town-or-bush_Abingdon-MD.html
The French Troops of Count de Rochambeau in five divisions camped here at the end of August 1782—the 22nd camp on the return march from the Yorktown victory to the north.