Clothier to the KingLansky Brothers was founded in 1946 by Bernard and Guy Lansky with a $125 investment from their father, S. L. Lansky. The store began at 126 Beale Street as an army surplus store, but gradually changed to accommodate customers interested in a one-of-a-kind look. At the time, Beale Street was the center of the African-American social and music scene in Memphis. Bernard traveled the country looking for unique product. Sometimes outrageous, always years ahead of anything else in town, many of the items were made of bright, vivid colors and silky fabrics. Lansky Brothers quickly became the fashion headquarters to musicians and the clothes savvy, including B.B. King, Isaac Hayes, David Porter, Carl Perkins, Johnny Cash, Jerry Lee Lewis and Rufus Thomas.
|Placed By||The Lansky Family & Shelby County Historical Commission|
|Marker Condition||No reports yet|
|Date Added||Sunday, October 19th, 2014 at 2:14pm PDT -07:00|
|UTM (WGS84 Datum)||15S E 768443 N 3892550|
|Decimal Degrees||35.14006667, -90.05361667|
|Degrees and Decimal Minutes||N 35° 8.404', W 90° 3.217'|
|Degrees, Minutes and Seconds||35° 8' 24.24" N, 90° 3' 13.02" W|
|Driving Directions||Google Maps|
|Closest Postal Address||At or near 126-132 Beale St, Memphis TN 38103, US|
|Alternative Maps||Google Maps, MapQuest, Bing Maps, Yahoo Maps, MSR Maps, OpenCycleMap, MyTopo Maps, OpenStreetMap|
Have you seen this marker? If so, check in and tell us about it.