John Augustus Dempwolf, a Pennsylvania architect, was asked to design Trinity Lutheran Church in 1896. He had previously designed the Taneytown Presbyterian Church in 1883 and the Hagan House and Grocery Store in 1890. Several other prominent residents also had their houses, stores, and even stables created by Dempwolf's architectural firm.
All of the Dempwolf buildings incorporate similar materials red brick with red mortar joints and slate roofs. The thin brick came from Tobias Eckenrode's brick yard near the railroad tracks, and Taneytown's brick mason, Daniel Fair, constructed each building.
Other unique buildings by the Dempwolf firm include the Edward Reindollar House and Barn (1896) on York Street and the Birnie Trust Company (1898) on East Baltimore Street. The Birnie Bank and House and the Hagan House and Store are two different examples of how Dempwolf designed a private house into a commercial structure, yet kept the living and work spaces separate.
"In the latter part of summer that year, the Frederick and Pennsylvania Line Railroad reached here, and from that time to the present,... about 65 buildings have been put up, most of them dwelling houses." — Dr. Clotworthy Birnie, the Carroll Record, 1894.