The Town Hall School built on the Geddes farm, carries with it a rich family and educational tradition. The first Geddes came to this area in 1824 and the family possesses the 1827 deed to the farm signed by President John Quincy Adams. In 1852, William Geddes leased land for a school at the corner of Morgan and Thomas Roads to the Pitt (now Pittsfield) district for 99 years for 6-cents per year.
The previous Town Hall School was a brick building constructed in 1852. The existing wooden structure was built in 1895 at a cost of $677.50. This one-room school served as a social center for families in the community. Holiday celebrations were highlights of the year for all. From the 1880s, until its doors closed in 1957, student enrollment remained in the 30-40 range. One year during the depression there were only two students in attendance. At least 97 teachers taught here during the 105 years that the school was in session.
Eastern Michigan University, originally named Michigan State Normal School, was one of the first public teacher training institutions west of the Allegheny mountains. As the University's official sesquicentennial project, the Town Hall School was moved to the campus on July 7, 1987 and dedicated on October 22, 1988 and stands as a symbol of the University's commitment to teacher education. The Town
Hall School brings history to life for current and future generations of students.