(Side 1)(Continued on other side)
This historic non-denominational church, first known as "The Church in the Wildwood" because of location, was established and constructed in 1886 when Asa Pillsbury, Sr. donated land for a church, cemetery and school to trustees A.T. Adams, J.A. Felts and John Flowers. The original wooden church, which was destroyed by fire in 1904, had a foundation of 12 x 12 timbers that washed ashore from shipwrecks in Tampa Bay, logs and lumber from the W.S. Warner family sawmill at Palma Sola Point. J.B. Rogers, an early pioneer of the area, built the present picturesque sanctuary in
(Continued from other side)
1905 on the same timbers with cement blocks made at the site. Mrs. Harold Phelps and Mrs. Frank Smith donated the beautiful Italian cedar trees growing around the sanctuary. They were planted a short time after the new building was completed and are considered to be some of the most significant specimens found in any area of the South. Many pioneer Cortez families attended church here and some are buried in the cemetery. Descendents of church leaders still live in the community. Members are dedicated to the preservation of the sanctuary and historic site.