This is a replica of a barn built in 1850 on Sylvania-Metamora Road. In 2000, the original barn was dismantled and the timber beams were transported to the Historical Village where they were used in the reconstruction of the barn. The original main beam was 42 feet long and made of hand hewn white oak. Some of the original beams are in use as benches in the Historical Village.
The barn is built of timber frame construction with cedar board and batten walls. It is designed for use as a side-by-side blacksmith shop and classroom where adult tours and schoolchildren experience the tools used by the craftsmen and the products they made for Sylvania's early residents.
In the blacksmith's shop, visitors learn about many of the cast and formed products used in everyday home life and transportation in early Sylvania, from door handles and pot hooks to horseshoes and carriage parts. Blacksmithing demonstrations are available for special events.
In the carpentry area, visitors discover how tradesmen used ingenious hand tools and learned skills to produce furniture, wagon wheels, household goods and much more.
Sign Sponsored By: Bugbee and Conkle, LLP, Attorneys at Law