Only memories remain...
In 1920, the ambitious Anaconda Copper Mining Company built the community of Conda to house its phosphate miners and their families. About 300 people resided in Conda during the mining heyday. The town closed in 1984.
Conda, a nice little town
At its peak, Conda hosted 82 homes, school, meeting hall, bunk house, store, and offices. Company housing rented for $12.00 a month, which included water for lawns and gardens. Two times a week, free movies were shown twice daily so that shift workers could attend.
The Conda Bus
From 1922 to 1936, the Company offered free travel for miners and their families between Conda and Soda Springs on "The Bus." The unique rail car rambled along the Union Pacific rail lines between the two communities even in winter.
In the 1960s, J.R. Simplot, new owner of the Conda Mine, gave The Bus to the Willard Poulsen family, past residents of Conda. The Bus was moved to Soda Springs Golf Course and painted red. In 1983, the Poulsens gifted The Buss to the city of Soda Springs and it was installed in Corrigan Park. A few years later The Bus was placed under a canopy and restored to its original appearance.