Trinity Episcopal Church was first established in 1745, and its congregation worshiped in three buildings built on the site one block north on Church Street. In 1854, under the leadership of the Rev. Charles W. Andrews, DD, who served as rector for 33 years, the trustees purchased two lots for the construction of the present building, and construction began in 1855. The Rt. Rev. William H. Meade, Bishop of Virginia, visited Shepherdstown that year, bringing with him a brick from the first Episcopal Church in Jamestown, Virginia. The brick is visible from the Church Street side at the top of the tower. Upon completion the church was consecrated on April 5, 1859, by The Rt. Rev. John Johns.
During the War Between the States, Shepherdstown was in the path of both armies and changed hands several times. Services were held each Sunday despite the fact that one week the congregation might be populated with Union soldiers and the next by Confederates. The church was fortunate to escape damage during the war. Following the Battle of Antietam, most Shepherdstown buildings were used as hospitals for the wounded. Trinity, however, as the newest church in town, was dedicated as a place of public worship for all.
Following the War, since the church did not provide space for Sabbath School, the Chapel was built as a space for
this function. It was consecrated on Christmas Day 1870.
Throughout the history of Shepherdstown, Trinity Church has been a vital and important part of the community. May she long stand as witness to the presence of Christ.