After four attempts, a permanent public library was established in 1890.
From rented quarters, it moved to the new Town Building in 1895.
In 1902, to meet philanthropist Andrew Carnegie's conditions, the Town pledged $1,500 per year for operations and vowed to buy land for a library building.
The former home of jeweler Charles Hodgman (1836-1895) and an adjacent parcel were obtained. With Carnegie's gift of $15,000, the building was completed in 1906.
It houses the Kilburn collection of White Mountain art and the world's second largest collection of Kilburn stereoscopic views.
Visually, the library presents an eclectic blend of Georgian and neoclassical styles with decorations of a richness rare for a structure of its size.