Maeystown, where three streams descend down the bluff, was founded by Jacob Maeys in 1852. The original settlers were German members of the forty-eighter movement. The village is unique in manner with structures integrated into the landscape. The original stone church held services intermittently in German until 1943. Sixty significant buildings still exist, including Maeys' log house, the original church, the stone bridge, Zeitinger's mill, and various outbuildings, barns and smokehouses made of limestone, brick, and wood. These buildings built in the mid to late 1800s form this quaint little village.
Maeystown was designated as an historic district in 1978.