In 1872 Alfred Odrick, a former slave and carpenter, purchased 30 acres and built a house on the south side of Lewinsville Road, later intersected by Spring Hill Road to form Odrick's Corner. By 1879 a one-room schoolhouse, Odrick's School, had been built there. Tradition links Odrick to its establishment. The school was also used for community meetings and the first services of the Shiloh Baptist Church. The original frame schoolhouse was eventually replaced with a brick structure, which was closed, sold in 1953, and later demolished. A vibrant African-American community grew around the school and church.