The Mayors of the City of Sevierville

The Mayors of the City of Sevierville (HMZ5F)

Location: Sevierville, TN 37862 Sevier County
Buy Tennessee State flags at!
Country: United States of America
Buy United States of America flags at!

N 35° 52.128', W 83° 33.928'

  • 0 check ins
  • 0 favorites
Several attempts were made in the incorporation of the city of Sevierville since its founding in 1795, but it was not until 1901 that a continuous chartered city government was established. Ambrose M. Paine was elected Sevierville's first mayor on May 2, 1901 having received his law degree from the University of Tennessee that same year. The son of a minister he had moved with his family to Sevier County in 1886. An active businessman and State Democratic Party Leader, Mr. Paine was appointed by Gov. Tom Rye to the Judgeship of the Second Judicial Circuit of Tennessee in 1916.

A.M. Paine 1901-1904
A.T. Marshall 1904-1906
W.A. Catlett 1906-1908
M.B. McMahan 1908-1909
W.S. Murphy 1909-1913
H.C. Blair 1913-1915
J.B. Waters 1915-1917
J.S. Ballard 1917-1919
J.L. Thornton 1919-1921
B.W. Murphy 1921-1927
J. Ed. Emert 1927-1931
S.L. Atchley 1931-1933
*Roy C. Marshall 1933-1938
Bert C. Ketner 1938-1945
J. Reed Wade 1945-1947
Robert S. Howard 1947-1951
Robert L. Ogle Jr. 1951-1953
Ronald J. Ingle 1953-1959
James A. Temple 1959-1963
Roy C. Newman 1963-1969
Robert S. Howard 1969-1971
Herbert F. Lawson 1971-1973
J. Cliff Davis 1973-1977
Gary R. Wade 1977-1987
* Died in office
HM NumberHMZ5F
Year Placed1986
Placed BySevier Museum of History and Art
Marker ConditionNo reports yet
Date Added Wednesday, October 22nd, 2014 at 3:52pm PDT -07:00
Sorry, but we don't have a picture of this historical marker yet. If you have a picture, please share it with us. It's simple to do. 1) Become a member. 2) Adopt this historical marker listing. 3) Upload the picture.
Locationbig map
UTM (WGS84 Datum)17S E 268373 N 3972436
Decimal Degrees35.86880000, -83.56546667
Degrees and Decimal MinutesN 35° 52.128', W 83° 33.928'
Degrees, Minutes and Seconds35° 52' 7.68" N, 83° 33' 55.68" W
Driving DirectionsGoogle Maps
Area Code(s)865
Closest Postal AddressAt or near 103 W Main St, Sevierville TN 37862, US
Alternative Maps Google Maps, MapQuest, Bing Maps, Yahoo Maps, MSR Maps, OpenCycleMap, MyTopo Maps, OpenStreetMap

Is this marker missing? Are the coordinates wrong? Do you have additional information that you would like to share with us? If so, check in.

Nearby Markersshow on map
William M. Whaley
0.01 miles
James Crawford Murphy
0.02 miles
0.02 miles
Timothy Reagan
0.02 miles
Isaac Thomas
0.02 miles
James McMahan
0.03 miles
Thomas Atchley
0.03 miles
Isaac Dockery
0.06 miles
Hon. Lieut. Spencer Clack
0.07 miles
Sevier County Veterans
0.09 miles
Check Ins  check in   |    all

Have you seen this marker? If so, check in and tell us about it.

Comments 0 comments

Maintenance Issues
  1. Is this marker part of a series?
  2. What historical period does the marker represent?
  3. What historical place does the marker represent?
  4. What type of marker is it?
  5. What class is the marker?
  6. What style is the marker?
  7. Does the marker have a number?
  8. This marker needs at least one picture.
  9. Can this marker be seen from the road?
  10. Is the marker in the median?