You searched for City|State: anacortes, wa
Showing results 1 to 10 of 17
World War IIBarney Marvin Allen · Phillip Olander Allen · Robert Lee Allen · Rodger D. Andrews · John Walter Barber · Arthur D. Blackrud · Archie Eugene Brown · Kenneth G. Detwiler · William …
One of the one hundred immortals D.S.C. 6795.This park is dedicated to the honored memory of the brave sons of Fidalgo, Guemes, Decatur and Cypress Islands who at the call of their country entered the service and gave their lives in the Great War …
John Bapiste LePage (1857-1939), the French-Canadian artist and architect, designed this unique memorial park and supervised its construction by local volunteers. Great Northern Railroad donated the park site, and costs were paid by contributors a…
Captain Blackwood's Handsome Launch. Plying Between Bellingham and Anacortes. Two Trips Daily. The Handsomest and Most Commodius and Sea Worthy Boat of the Kind on Puget Sound. 1907
The late, great, rich & powerfulAndrew Carnegie:A real man of steel
Born 1835 in Scotlandcame to USA 1848.Was a bobbin-boy, clerktelegraph & newspaper guy,built bridges, made iron,near monopolized steel.
Wrote books & became a philanthropist…
Dedicated to the publicin memory ofMiss Carrie M. White,Third President of W.C.T.U.of Washington Territory,and First Presidentof Anacortes W.C.T.U.,by the members thereof.
Born 1864 · Maine to Washington 1890A Teacher · 1st Librarian atAnacortes Public Library, 1910Mrs. Howard lived in the neighborhood& walked to work · Retired '39
THE NATURAL DYNAMICShip Harbor was formed by natural forces over thousands of years. It is maintained as a natural landform by the continued dynamic balance of these same forces. Preservation of this area requires that physical, chemical, and biol…
The Great Northern Depot was built in 1911 at 7th & R & served as a depot until 1973. This photo of the north side shows a steam engine, people on the platform, horse-&-buggy "hacks" for hire &, in the background, the original Methodist Episcopal …
The W.T. Preston's steam-powered engines were first installed on the Swinomish in 1914, then transferred with most of the machinery to the new wood-hulled W.T. Preston in 1929, and to her steel-hulled replacement in 1939.
Originally fired with …