You searched for City|State: clifton, va
Showing results 1 to 10 of 38
Owned by just two families before its first restoration in 2002 this house was built by J .M. Fulmer just one year after finishing a larger home on Chapel Street next to the Clifton Baptist Church. The Spring House in the front yard once provided …
"Mr. J.M. Fulmer was unfortunate enough to lose one of his horses, Saturday night. He had been plowing during the day and it is supposed that the horse drank too much water while warm."
This walking plow lay intact in the weeds behind…
In December 1904, this home on Dell Avenue's "Lot No. 1" was one of six houses put up on the just-named street. Purchased by O.C. Southard, railway mail clerk, it was built as part of a partnership between R.M. Kivett and the Buckley Bro…
This building was built as a General Mercantile Store and through the years has been occupied as a Saloon, Bakery, Grocery, Pool Hall, Cabinet Shop and Church.
The addition was added in 1926 for a Barber Shop.
The building was completely res…
Owned by Rev. Wm. Bradley & his wife Elisabeth, the first Presbyterian Minister in
Clifton, the parents of Margaret Riviere Hetzel, who taught the first School in Clifton
Restored in 1981
Built in 1910 by Clifton lumber merchant J. M. Fulmer. Two times mayor of Clifton, 1920 — 1924 and 1930 — 1936, Fulmer was known as the town strong man.
This house is an excellent example of the Carpenter Gothic architectural syle t…
This house originally built by the Corsens and was later inhabited by the Gunther family. It was aquired by the town of Clifton in 1973 as a location for town meetings.
Built on a lot owned by a freed slave. This house was in the Pitkin family for over 60 years. A major addition in 1995 changed the focus to a brick courtyard in the rear of the house.
Built in 1913 for Lucy Virginia Davis Buckley, who lived here with her youngest daughter unti1 1923. It has been the home of two of Clifton's Mayors, W. Swem Elgin and James C. Chesley. Clifton's third elementary school (1895-1912) and the first h…
Longtime Clifton residents, the A.J. Kidwell family resided here beginning in 1890 for nearly 60 years. The town blacksmith, Kidwell was a prominent citizen and member of the first Town Council in 1902. He operated a smithy located in the now vaca…