You searched for City|State: dublin, dublin
Showing results 1 to 10 of 31
Howth Abbey, St. Marys
Sigtrygg, King of Dublin, founded the first church here in 1042. When this church was amalgamated with another on Ireland's Eye in 1235, it was re-founded by Luke, Archbishop of Dublin. Much of the present church dates from…
A Fishing Village
References to the fishing industry in Howth can be found from the twelfth century, although in the seventeenth century the port was also known in the area as a base for pirates roaming Dublin Bay. In Elizabethan times a wooden q…
Sixth President of theInternational Olympic Committee1972 - 1980
President of theOlympic Council of Ireland1950 - 1973
This commemorative bronze bust was unveiled by
Dr. Jacques Rogge
Eight[h] President of theInternational Olympic Comm…
Acknowledged as a world figure in literature. He dismantled the English language and put it together again so that it became music. The sculpture in bronze was unveiled on June 16, (Bloomsday) 1982.
"He may be regarded as the pivot around which Irish literature turned from instinctive to conscious art." (George W. Russell).
The memorial, erected in [October] 1967, is a tribute in bronze by Henry Moore, the sculptor.
The National Memorial to members of the Defence Forces is a place of contemplation and remembrance, providing a focal point where families, relatives and members of the public can reflect on the contribution and sacrifice made by members of the De…
The monument was erected byThe Howth Fishermens Associationand commemorated the livesof all persons lost at sea,no matter where or no matter how.
[Representative memorial plaques follow]
FishermenBrian Faherty and Michael McDonoghof The Live…
Ni dhéanfaidh gáeil bhearmao orc go brách
[Gaelic transcription is best effort]
Erected in 1954. An uncut rock of Wicklow granite symbolises the patriot's unbreakable spirit. Into the rock is set a plaque bearing …
Prior to 1877 St. Stephen's Green was a private square for the use of the residents of the Green. In that year, through the generosity of Sir Arthur Edward Guinness (Lord Ardilaun) negotiations were concluded for converting it into a public park.
This fountain, erected in 1956, is situated near the Leeson Street entrance to the park. It consists of a group of three bronze figures - Nornenbrunnen, representing the Three Fates, who weave and measure the thread of man's destiny.