Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: dumfries, va

Showing results 1 to 10 of 16
Built in 1747, the Weems-Botts House is one of the oldest surviving structures in Dumfries. The smaller, original section of the house comprised two rooms and served as the Quantico Church vestry until the town confiscated it during the American R…
Revolutionary War Patriots and War of 1812 Veterans known to be interred in Historic Dumfries Cemetery Revolutionary War QM Timothy Brundige 1754 - 1822 PVT George Smith 1765 - 1822 Patriot Thomas Cave 1745 - 1802 PVT William Ford - 1794 Pat…
In Memory ofJohn and Mary ThomasSept. 1901Little Union Baptist Church[Original Cornerstone]:Little UnionBaptist ChurchEstb. 1903
In Memory of thosewho sacrificed theirlives in defense ofour country
At this location stood the Quantico Chapel, a log church, serving the first settlers of Overwharton Parish ca. 1667
This site was the location of the 1745 stone church and the frame edifice of the Dettingen Parish in the twentieth century. Here lies the mortal remains of the Dumfries pioneers, from 1667.
Revolutionary War SoldierWilloughby Tebbs2 LT, QM, Grayson's Regt, VA1759 - 1803Placed byBill of Rights Chapter, NSDARMay 2002
The roads through Prince William County were important routes for the Revolutionary War campaign of 1781. In April, the Marquis de Lafayette passed through the county on the King's Highway with a portion of Gen. George Washington's Continental Arm…
Dumfries, first settled in the early 18th century, became in 1749 the first town in Prince William County chartered by the House of Burgesses. It soon grew in wealth and importance as a major port, rivaling Alexandria, Baltimore, and New York in t…
Just east of this location along the Quantico creek was the plantation known as Graham Park. This property was patented by John Graham (1711-1787) who came to Virginia from Scotland about 1733. Graham is known as the founder of Dumfries since the …