Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: flemington, nj

Showing results 1 to 10 of 58
Laid out on the farm of Johannes Nuhl (later Anglicized to Newell) who had come from Staten Island c. 1730, this is the burial ground of many of his descendants over the years and now serves as an area community cemetery.
These stately trees, mostly White Oak (Quercus alba), are living remnants of the land owned and farmed by Jacob Kase (Case) who came in 1732 from what is now Germany. Some of these trees may date to the 18th century. This stand of trees was bisect…
The first confirmed burial here was 1794 concurrent with the erection of the church. It originally had a section for "colored and strangers" who were eventually honored with a 1999 monument. Today, it is the resting place of founding church member…
Home of Fulper Pottery President William Hill Fulper II & his wife, the former Eta Pearce. Originally built in the early 1800s, the home was completely remodeled in 1924 in the Mediterranean Villa style. It was decorated inside with hundreds of Fu…
The houses at #20 & #24 Mine St. were home to members of the Fulper family during the 19th & early 20th centuries. During the 1910s, a house at #26 was moved to Park Ave. & #24 was moved about 30' west to accommodate factory expansion & constructi…
Owned by John Buchanan from 1774 to 1813. From 1813 to 1846, the second Buchanan's Tavern was operated across the road. It was known as Trout's Tavern until it closed around 1855.
Major Lambert Boeman of the 15th NJ Infantry is buried here just to the east. He was killed at Cedar Creek, VA in October of 1864 while in command of the 10th NJ.
James Teague, of North Carolina's Teague family of potters, hand threw Stangl's stoneware pottery here from Spring of 1941 until shortly after the attack on Pearl Harbor & America's entry into World War II in late December of the same year. During…
Early Lenape Indian trail; became a "Kings Highway" in 1764. Was main stage route between Philadelphia and New York.
Site of the County's second longest continuously operated agricultural fair from 1865 until moved in 2001 to county property below Ringoes. Also the site of the renowned 5/8 mile oval Flemington Speedway 1910-2002.