Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: jackson, ms

Page 4 of 7 — Showing results 31 to 40 of 69
This edifice ~ a memorial to Bishop Charles Betts Galloway ~ houses descendants of Jackson's first Christian congregation, worshipping on this site since 1839.
Methodist Episcopal Church South. First M.E. Church South erected A.D. 1838. Present building erected A.D. 1913-1915. Dedicated to the memory of Bishop Charles B. Galloway
Over 450 Confederate soldiers who died in and around Jackson during the Civil War are buried here. Their names are known but not the exact site of each grave, as some were reburied here from graves where they fell. As Jackson awaited the final sur…
This denomination, which has over 160 member churches in the U.S., was founded ca. 1896 in Jackson by the Rev. Charles Price Jones, preacher, evangelist, and prolific writer of religious songs.
Frequently referred to as "40 & 8" cars because of their capacity to carry "40 men or 8 horses," the boxcars were built beginning in the 1870s and used in both World Wars to transport troops and supplies. Each of the cars of the Merci Train was ad…
Served 1839-1903 as the state capitol: restored 1959-1961 as the State Historical Museum, a division of the Miss. Department of Archives and History.
Built in 1894 as Jackson's first public school for black students. Commonly known as the "Mother School," it was named for Smith Robertson, a respected community leader, and Jackson's first black city alderman. Among the school's graduates is auth…
Is listed in the National Register of Historic Places by its inclusion in the West Capitol Street Historic District March 1980 National Park Service U. S. Department of the Interior
Front Malaco Records, one of America's foremost labels in the fields of southern soul, blues, and gospel, was founded at this site in 1967. Malaco's studio was the first state-of-the-art recording facility in Mississippi. The label attained nat…
Front The Queen of Hearts, a primary venue for down-home blues in Jackson, opened at this location in the 1970s. During the following decades, owner-operator Chellie B. Lewis presented the blues bands of King Edward, Sam Myers, Big Bad Smitty, …