You searched for City|State: kingsville, md
Showing results 1 to 9 of 9
What caused the "great excitement" in Harford County during the summer of 1864? It was the arrival of a detachment of the Confederate cavalrymen led by partisan Major Harry Gilmor. He and his troopers, mostly Marylanders, were part of a 12,000-man…
Wildlands are state designated small areas that retain their wilderness character. They have unique ecological, geological or scenic resources, and may provide a home for rare plant and animal species.Established in 1995, the Sweethouse Branch Wil…
What caused the "great excitement" in Harford County during the summer of 1864? It was the arrival of a detachment of the Confederate cavalrymen led by partisan Major Harry Gilmore. He and his trooper, mostly Marylanders, were part of a 12,000-man…
Manufacturing village started in 1827 on site of Isaiah Linton's 1772 Jericho Lower Gristmill by Dean Walker and members of Shaw and Tiffany families. Town acquired in 1838 by James Mahool. The first cotton mill burned in 1881. Second cotton mill …
The founder of Perry Hall, Gough owned a 1,300 acre estate that bordered the Gunpowder Falls. He dominated commerce in Northeast Baltimore County during the colonial period. An active supporter of the Methodist church, he sheltered Francis Asbury …
When one of Harry Gilmor's Confederate Cavalrymen (on July 11, 1864) pulled down his Union Flag, Day shot him and then escaped to the woods. They burned his house and barn.
Called for a branch of that name on which Native Americans practiced a spiritual purification ceremony. Still done today, by generating steam from heated rocks in a sacred lodge while prayers are made.
The old church here standing was built by Edward Day at his own expense and consecrated in 1817 to replace Saint John's at Joppa Town which, built in 1725, lay in ruins.
Established 1772 by David Lee a Quaker from Bucks County, Pennsylvania. A gun manufactory back of the mill furnished guns for the Revolution in 1776. The original tract called Jerusalem patented 1687.