You searched for City|State: molesey, england
Showing results 1 to 9 of 9
The Site of the Toy Inn
An ancient Hostelry of Note
Built for Oliver Cromwell's Troops c.1650 rebuilt c.1700, demolished c.1840; wherein Pope wrote the Rape of the Lock; the Duke of Clarence, afterwards William IV, formed & presided over his Toy…
The Great Fountain Garden was a magnificent baroque formal garden, created by Daniel Marot for William III (r 1689-1702) and Mary II (r 1689-1694) to frame Henry VIII's hunting park.
The French architect Daniel Marot desi…
Henry VIII's hunting park and Charles II's formal canal.
Hunting at Hampton Court
Hampton Court's great attraction for Henry VIII (r 1509-1547) and later monarchs was its hunting. Henry enclosed this 750 acre (300 hectare) park to keep his d…
The Golden Jubilee Fountain
was inaugurated by
Her Majesty the Queen
on 11 November 2002 to mark
50 Years of Her Majesty's reign
This Golden Jubilee project was generously
donated by Captain Sir Donald Gosling RNR
These gardens have been famous for their displays of massed bedding plants since they were opened to the public by Queen Victoria (r1837-1901).
Queen Caroline's flower border
Queen Caroline, the wife of George II (r1727-1760), was an enthusia…
The baroque Privy Garden you see today was originally completed by William III in 1702, then reconstructed by Historic Royal Palaces in 1995.
William III's baroque masterpiece
William III (r1689-1702) swept away the old Tudor Privy Garden to c…
Part of the Hampton Court Palace Estate
Managed by Historic Royal Palaces
Discover the sights and stories along Barge Walk
Barge Walk runs for 5 km alongside the River Thames from Hampton Court Bridge to Kingston Bridge. This …
The Family Coat of Arms of Thomas Newland Allen
Hampton Court Bridge was opened in 1866,
at the expense of Thomas Newland Allen
a local man who lived at Hampton on the Middlesex Bank.
Originally a toll bridge allowing Mr Allen to recoup his…
Molesey was first mentioned in the mid 7th Century record books when it was transferred to the monastery at Chertsey Abbey. It was referred to as Mulesei or Mul's Island. In the Domesday Book, it became Mulesey when the survey of…