You searched for City|State: queenstown, md
Showing results 1 to 10 of 22
Land patented in 1659 to Thomas Stagwell, English immigrant and member of the Maryland General Assembly (elected 1661). Acquired in 1706 by Richard Bennett III (1667-1749). One of the largest landowners and slaveholders in the colony. The house, n…
The British set out from Kent Island to attack Queenstown on August 13, 1813. The land and water contingents numbered 300 troops each. Intending to surprise the Queen Anne's County militia, they mistakenly fired, warning the Americans. British bar…
During the War of 1812 the young United States was embroiled in conflict with Great Britain. From 1812 to 1815 Americans fought to protect their rights and economic independence. They faced superior enemy forces on the homefront and the high seas.…
Born near this site in 1788. Took office January 1, 1839. As the first popularly elected Governor of Maryland. Remembered as an advocate of financial reform in government. Village of Grasonville named in his honor. He died near here on July 2, 1868.
→Patented to Col. Philemon Lloyd as "Lloyd's Insula" 1682, a combination of four earlier patents. Henrietta Maria Lloyd married Samuel Chew and their daughters married William Paca 3rd Governor of Maryland and John Beale Bordley, who inherit…
Born in Queen Anne's County, 1752, educated at Washington College. Rose to rank of captain in Revolutionary War. Served in State Assembly; elected to U.S. Senate 1801. Chosen 13th governor of Maryland 1806, twice re-elected, later member of U.S. C…
Patented to William Hensley in 1730 as a resurvey of several earlier tracts granted in the sixteen hundreds. The house contains some fine woodwork. The Hemsley graveyard has some interesting tombs.
→Home of William Paca, signer of the Declaration of Independence and twice Governor of Maryland. Born at Chilbury Hall, Harford County 1740. Died and lies buried here, 1799. The unusual house probably dates about 1740.
→Surveyed as "Cheston" 1659 for John and William Coursey containing 800 acres—six generations of Courseys (who adopted the older spelling of DeCourcey) lived here and lie buried here. The original house was burned.
Patented to Thomas Stagwell 1649. Acquired by Richard Bennett 1706, one of the largest land owners in Maryland. His descendant Judge Richard Bennett Carmichael built the house about 1805. He presided over the convention of 1867, for a new constitu…