Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: san jose, ca

Showing results 1 to 10 of 195
W.W. Cozzens House. City of San Jose Historical Landmark #201. W.W. Cozzens purchased 13.5 acres of land and built a house on this site between 1873 and 1875. . He was a pioneer of Santa Clara Valley who introduced a revolutionary process of dry…
On the east bank of Los Alamitos Creek, with graves dating back to the 1800s, lies the final resting place for Quicksilver Miners and their families. A wooden marker notes the burial site of Richard Bertram Barrett's arm, lost in a hunting acciden…
Built in 1886 by Giles McDougal as social meeting place for miners & families. Included game room, kitchen, library & dance hall with stage patterned after San Francisco's Tivoli Theater. Upstairs rooms use for Hacienda visitors; in summer, arts &…
New Almaden, first mining town in California, founded 1845. Community Club House built in 1950s on land and with materials donated by the community, under directions of Nathaniel Gross. The Club is a non-profit organization dedicated to the preser…
Built after the tragic 1875 fire destroyed the original 1848 Adobe Hotel. First two-story hotel in California. Used by the Almaden Quicksilver Mining Co. for unmarried employees & to house visitors to mining settlement. Remodeled into the Caf&eacu…
Built in 1899, Mrs. Guadalupe Madero was concerned over the safety of her son, Antonio, away at the Spanish-American War. As a favor upon his sage return, she helped direct community funds & labor to construct Saint Anthony Church.
At the corner of Alameda Road at Bertram, sat the first Hacienda Schoolhouse built in the 1850s by mine owner Barron Forbes Co. to educate miners' and neighboring ranchers' children. About 85 students attended grades 1-8. In 1914, a second adjacen…
Established in 1846, the Scott Furnace introduced here in 1874 revolutionized the quicksilver industry. Mine office located in 1850 in existing adobe building. Telephone installed 1878. Electric lights in 1890.
Here in Los Alamitos Creek in 1824, Luis Chabolla & Antonio Sunol first worked New Almaden ore in an arrastra & sluice.
This two-tube inclined retort, known as a "Rossi Retort," was named for Louis Rossi who came to New Almaden in the 1920s and built a reduction plant based on his patented design. This style of retort allowed rapid recovery of valuable mercury from…
PAGE 1 OF 20