You searched for City|State: surry, va
Showing results 1 to 10 of 16
Prior to unloading at Jamestown, the English sailed the James in search of a suitable location. In his account, George Perch recalls crossing to the southern shore on May 5, 1607 at the invitation of a chief he misidentifies as the "Werowance of R…
Indians cultivated fertile lands along the James River for centuries before the colonists arrived in 1607. They grew squash, corn, and beans to supplement their diet of native plants, fish, shellfish, and game. When the soils at a house site becam…
Near this site on February 26, 1925, the ferry Captain John Smith began the first automobile ferry service crossing the James River. Captain Albert F. Jester was the inaugurator and owner/operator until it was sold to the Commonwealth of Virginia …
(Center)"At the going downof the sun and inthe morning we willremember them."
Erected A.D. 1947
(Left)1917 - 1918To the members ofthe Armed Forces of World War IfromSurry County
They fought that democracy might survive.They with their com…
Tothe Confederate Soldiersof Surry County.
"That we through life may notforgetto love the thin gray line."
Erected by the ConfederateMemorial Association of SurryCounty A.D. 1909.
In memory ofCapt. Jacob Faulcon, C.S.A.of this villagewho was shot and instantly killedby a party of Federal raiders at apoint one hundred and fifty yardsS.E. of this buildingNov. 11, 1864
In memory ofChancoThe Indian who lived withRichard Pace at Pace's Painesin this county and who on thenight before the massacre ofMarch 22, 1622 informed Pace ofOpechancanough's plot and thussaved the Jamestown Colony
Erected A.D. 1929 byThomas …
Surry County African-American Heritage Society
Poole's Funeral Home
The Poole's Funeral Home was established November 1890 by the late M.B. Poole. With his horse drawn hearse, he served the community with great dignity and professional servi…
Approximately six miles to the north, near Hog Island Creek, is the site of Lawne's Creek Church. Authorized in 1629 as a "chapel of ease" for the settlers in the area by the Council and General Court of Colonial Virginia, the church was the site …
This house, just to the north, was built by Arthur Allen in 1655. In Bacon's Rebellion, 1676, the house was seized by a party of rebels and fortified. On December 29, 1676, it was captured by sailors from a ship in James River who were engaged in …