You searched for City|State|Country: , ma us
Showing results 1 to 10 of 223
Christopher Bridge Marsh
Ministers of this City
Judge Theophilus Bradbury
"Lord" Timothy Dexter
Five French refu…
A misplaced switch forced a freight train onto a dead-end side track on May 23, 1873, and the 34-ton steam locomotive smashed through barriers and fell down the embankment to Merrimac Street below. The engineer and fireman jumped clear before the …
A domed Victorian train station was built in 1893 behind where the Winter Street condominiums stand today. At the time, there were 32 trains traveling to Boston every day.
The station operated for 75 years and was destroyed by fire on May 2, 1968.
the memory of the officers and men
who left this Memorial Hall
April 16, 1861
in answer to the first call of
for troops to defend the Capital
issued April 15, 1861
Capt. Albert W. Bartlett
Lt. George Barke…
When the British Parliament in 1773 imposed a tax on tea imported into the American Colonies the act was widely resented.
In indignation tea was brought by the people to Market Square and burned.
To commemorate the incident this tablet was erect…
This historic building, built as a Markethouse and Lyceum by the citizens of Newburyport in 1822, served as the Central Fire Station from the mid-1800s until 1980.
A cooperative effort by the public and private sectors has restored the structure …
Straitsmouth Island was first sighted in 1614 by Captain John Smith. He also spotted nearby Thacher and Milk Islands and named all three the Turks' Heads.
Lighting the Way
Built in 1834, the island's first lighthouse was 19 feet tall. Its c…
It was first shaped thousands of years ago by a huge chunk of ice which broke off a retreating glacier.
When the ice finally melted, it left a steep-sided pit that geologists call a kettle hole.
In 1645 the first settlers from England named th…
This is the bell from the steeple of the First Congregational Church of Rockport. It is the bell that is rung hourly by the Town Clock, still owned by the Town of Rockport. It is also rung by means of a rope and bell wheel on specia…
Brought from the siege of
by Nathaniel Knapp Jr. 1759
preserved by his son
as a memorial to his father
and also to his brother
who served at Bunker Hill
and was a member of the crew of