You searched for City|State|Country: , va us
Showing results 1 to 10 of 35
Greek Goddess- wise in the arts of war and industries of peace. She led through victory to peace and prosperity.
In World War II, over 450 members of the Women's Army Auxiliary Corps (WAACs) were assigned to a secret experiment. It called for the creation of coastal gun battery, comprised of both men and women, with the mission to protect the Military Distri…
This warrior figure is a tribute
to all Army women who have served
in defense of our nation.
She represents their sacrifices,
dedication and loyalty.
Dedicated on Veteran's Day 2013.
Funded with contributions made to the
Friends of the
In 1864, the Union Army's plan was to press relentlessly and destroy Lee's Army. On May 4, Grant crossed the Rapidan and started south. Unable to accomplish his objective at the Wilderness, Spotsylvania and Cold Harbor, he nevertheless succeeded i…
The Women's Army Corps (WAC) Training Center was established at nearby Camp Lee in 1948, when the corps gained Regular Army status. The first staff members transformed overgrown fields and dilapidated buildings into usable facilities. Run entirely…
Beginning in the late 1880's, this region of Prince George County along the Norfolk & Western Railway became the center of the first largest settlement of Czech and Slovak immigrants in Virginia. Originally known as Wells Station, then Estes, it w…
Union General Ulysses S. Grant wanted to capture Richmond—capital of the Confederacy. Grant knew that the key to Richmond which was lightly defended by Confederate forces. Failing to take Richmond by approaching from the north, Grant surpris…
On May 4, 1864, the Federal Army crossed the Rapidan River twenty miles west of Fredericksburg. The next day, Confederate General Robert E. Lee's forces struck the Union army in the Wilderness, opening a month-long campaign of nearly nonstop fight…
He laid the foundation of the National Park Service, defining and establishing the policies under which its areas shall be developed and conserved unimpaired for future generations. There will never come an end to the good that he has done.
This place, five miles northeast, has been owned by the Harrison family for two centuries. John Martin patented the land in 1617; Nathaniel Harrison bought it in 1720. The present house was built about 1770. The British General Phillips landed at …