Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 17043

Showing results 1 to 10 of 11
This bell once hung in the belfry of the original Wormleysburg School. The first school was located at the corner of Front and Houck Streets.
This bell once served as the original means of summoning volunteers of the community when there was a fire. It was hung in the belfry of the old Borough Building.
As Lt. Gen. Richard S. Ewell's Confederate Second Corps advanced on Harrisburg in June 1863, Union Maj. Gen. Darius N. Couch, charged with the defense of the city, recognized the need for a series of defensive fortifications to be constructed on B…
Pennsylvania's capital since 1812. As Harris' Ferry, was settled a century before by John Harris Sr. Laid out as a town in 1785 by John Harris, Jr. For over 200 years a center of travel, trade, and historic events.
Memorial toJohnWormley.1757 - 1825Founder ofWormleysburg
Left Panel Fort Couch was built as part of the emergency fortifications erected to defend Harrisburg and nearby bridges across the Susquehanna River during the 1863 invasion of Pennsylvania by Confederate forces. Fort Couch was built as an advance…
Remains of breastworks at Eighth and Ohio Streets, built before the battle of Gettysburg, to oppose the expected Southern drive on Harrisburg. June 29, 1863, a few Confederate scouts neared here but withdrew.
Remains of breastworks built in June 1863 to oppose an expected attack on Harrisburg by Confederate troops. Site then known as Hummel's Heights. Fort was named for General Couch, Commander, Eastern Pennsylvania Military Department.
"The Acropolis of Harrisburg" is a way in which to describe this Greek Revival, temple-like edifice that rests on a mound of retaining walls jutting from Allison Hill. Although these walls are relatively recent, built when the structure was conver…
A State-owned canal system, built 1826-34, to connect Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Lake Erie. The first lock on the canal to be dedicated, March 13, 1827, was "Penn Lock," 150 yards east. It was replaced in 1859 by Locks No. 10 and 11.