Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 21727

Showing results 1 to 10 of 27
Proclaimed a Public Oratory, December 8, 1965 by His Eminence, Lawrence Cardinal Shehan, Archbishop of Baltimore. The faithful who out of devotion visit the Grotto of Our Lady of Lourdes may gain the following special indulgences: A Plenary Indu…
1917 1918 Emmitsburg In The Great War This memorial erected and dedicated in honor of those from Emmitsburg District who served in The World War The Supreme Sacrifice Made By Bentzel, Arthur H*??? ?????Hahn, Martin Luther*???? Rowe, Francis Ed…
First and Second Brigades, First Cavalry Division marched from Westminster and the Reserve Cavalry, First Cavalry Division from Gettysburg en route to Frederick. Second Brigade Second Cavalry Division from Westminster via Emmitsburg to Monterey…
First Corps Marched from Marsh Run. Eleventh Corps from Emmitsburg to Gettysburg. Second Corps from Uniontown via Taneytown to near Gettysburg. Third Corps from Bridgeport via Emmitsburg to the Field of Gettysburg. Fifth Corps from Union Mills via…
This calvary group replaces the "old wooden cross" erected by John Dubois of which Mother Seton writes in her journal for the year 1815 —- "Quiet dinner at the Grotto before the old cross, yet standing after winter storms", memorializes fore…
Describing the conversion of her sister-in-law, Harriet: Harriet left the log house on the evening of Friday, July 21, 1809, between 10 and 11 o'clock to seek the solitude of the Old Church on the Hill... "Harriet stealing up to the church by the …
This cross marks the site of Father Dubois house in which Mother Seton and her associates lived from Jun 21, to July 31, 1809. "Blessed be God in His Angels and in His Saints."
Here on Sunday afternoons Mother Seton "seated on a rock known as Hers," taught Christian Doctrine to the children of The Mountain Parish. "They that instruct many to Justice shall Shine as the Stars for all Eternity." - Daniel XII, 3.
Built in 1906. Replaces the Old Grotto, 1808 - 1906.
Laid by Father John DuBois in 1807.